This marks the one-year anniversary of the return of From the Chair with Mike Hamilton powered by LEARFIELD which has now published more than 50 episodes since its relaunch last September. Recently named as a 2022 Leadership Recommendation by D1.ticker, the podcast is considered a “must listen” throughout the college sports industry.

“It has been a pleasure and honor to talk with friends, old and new, across the industry to explore the topics on everyone’s mind,” said Mike Hamilton, former Division I athletic director and LEARFIELD executive vice president. “The past year has been an unprecedented one in many ways, as administrators are committed to developing their student-athletes into leaders and champions while navigating the pandemic, transfer portal, NIL, social justice, mental wellness, coach transitions, and other issues that demand attention. The podcast has allowed us to explore these topics and expand the dialogue in our industry, while helping listeners get to know the men and women who are making decisions in athletics.”

Guests have included ADs from all Power Five Conferences and most Group of Five Conferences as well. Greg Bryne (Alabama), Josh Brooks (Georgia), Ross Bjork (Texas A&M), Rick Hart (SMU), Julie Cromer (Ohio University), Candice Storey Lee (Vanderbilt), Rob Mullins (Oregon), Dr. Derrick Gragg (Northwestern), and Gary Barta (Iowa) are just a few of those that have filled the guest chair. Chad Weiberg from Oklahoma State and Jamie Boggs from Grand Canyon University are the two most recent episodes, both touching on the impact of family, faith, fundraising and recent conference and division moves that have greatly impacted their campuses. Earlier this year, we released a series of episodes with industry legends Dan Guerrero and Joan Cronan, with more expected this year. A full list of episodes to date follows.

“I have found the athletics directors perspective on the ever-changing landscape to be not only educational, but extremely motivational on the future of our enterprise,” said Bob Vecchione, Chief Executive Officer of NACDA. “Mike’s interpersonal relationship with his guests, coupled with his preparation and ‘down home style,’ is a winning combination. I have suggested to our entire NACDA staff that From the Chair should be on their weekly required listening list.”

In From the Chair with Mike Hamilton powered by LEARFIELD, Mike sits down each week with current sitting athletic directors and legends from across the industry to examine the current landscape of college athletics, and provide insight into the experiences, proficiencies and perspective on life From the Chair. Each episode ranges from 25-40 minutes, making them perfect for listening while commuting to the office or a game. Covering topics of leadership, life, and legacy applicable to anyone looking to learn more about college sports or those aspiring to great influence, the podcast is available on YouTube, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, as well as The Varsity Network powered by LEARFIELD. For the latest episodes, and to listen and watch, visit

From the Chair Guest List (as of September 8, 2022)

Guest Episode Release Date
Ross Bjork (Texas A&M) September 8, 2021
John Hartwell (Utah State) September 15, 2021
Julie Cromer (Ohio) September 22, 2021
Danny White (Tennessee) September 29, 2021
Mike Hill (Charlotte) October 6, 2021
Jeramiah Dickey (Boise State) October 13, 2021
Candice Storey Lee (Vanderbilt) October 20, 2021
Scott Wetherbee (Eastern Michigan) October 27, 2021
Pat Chun (Washington State) November 3, 2021
Laird Veatch (Memphis) November 10, 2021
Jeremey McClain (Southern Miss) November 17, 2021
Scott Barnes (Oregon State) December 1, 2021
Leon Costello (Montana State) December 8, 2021
Gene Taylor (Kansas State) December 15, 2021
Dewayne Peevy (DePaul) December 22, 2021
Jared Benko (Georgia Southern) January 5, 2022
Troy Dannen (Tulane) January 12, 2022
John Wildhack (Syracuse) January 19, 2022
Josh Brooks (Georgia) January 26, 2022
Dr. Eric Wood (Louisiana Tech) February 2, 2022
Matt Larsen (North Dakota State) February 9, 2022
Michael Alford (Florida State) February 16, 2022
Rob Mullens (Oregon) February 23, 2022
Rick Hart (SMU) March 2, 2022
Sean Frazier (Northern Illinois) March 9, 2022
Randale Richmond (Kent State) March 16, 2022
David Herbster (South Dakota) March 23, 2022
Ryan Ivey (Stephen F Austin) March 30, 2022
Kirby Hocutt (Texas Tech) April 6, 2022
Mike Cragg (St. John’s) April 13, 2022
Mark Alnutt (Buffalo) April 20, 2022
Bryan Felt (Seton Hall) April 27, 2022
Mike Buddie (Army) May 4, 2022
Brent Jones (Troy) May 11, 2022
Gary Barta (Iowa) May 18, 2022
Scott Dolson (Indiana) May 25, 2022
Warde Manuel (Michigan) June 1, 2022
Amy Folan (Central Michigan) June 8, 2022
Jamie Pollard (Iowa State) June 15, 2022
Matt Roberts (College of Charleston) June 22, 2022
Dr. Derrick Gragg (Northwestern) June 29, 2022
Dan Guerrero (UCLA) {Legends} July 6, 2022
Dave Heeke (Arizona) July 13, 2022
Damon Evans (Maryland) July 20, 2022
Graham Neff (Clemson) July 27, 2022
Greg Byrne (Alabama) August 3, 2022
Chris May (Saint Louis) August 10, 2022
Joan Cronan (Tennessee) {Legends} August 17, 2022
Jen Cohen (Washington) August 24, 2022
Chad Weiberg (Oklahoma State) August 31, 2022
Jamie Boggs (Grand Canyon) September 7, 2022